What is Growing Around the Homestead?

It is officially spring and things are… springing.  Herbaceous perennials are bursting through the soil to see the sun and the gardens are changing quickly.  I find myself wandering around, wondering at the little nubs of plants pushing themselves up after their winter slumber.  I should be weeding, but I am easily distracted by the beauty all around me.

17757186_10209333263108950_6616907004944274146_n.jpg
Stonecrop

The tulips and anemones are blooming now.  Most of the tulips I’ve bought lately have come from a coworker’s daughter selling them as a fundraiser, which beats selling cookie dough and wrapping paper if you ask me.  The only thing is that the colors are a mystery when I receive the bulbs.  I have no way of knowing what they’re going to look like, but I have been pleasantly surprised.

17861990_10209422433178146_7576575152131542832_n17862402_10209422433938165_806288367649706172_n

 

 

 

Tulips

 

 

 

A lot of the plants in my garden are mail ordered, and the company I use usually has a free offer.  I was reluctant to try a Fritillaria imperialis, or Crown Imperial, because I have read from other growers that they can have a rather musky or skunky odor.  Maybe I haven’t brushed up against it enough or have been downwind at the appropriate moment, but I haven’t noticed an odor.  It is a gorgeous plant, though.  Since I have never grown this plant, or anything in it’s immediate family, I read as much as I could about its care.  It is very susceptible to rot if planted with the part of the bulb that produces the stem faces straight up.  I planted the thing on its side and asked it to please grow, but buried it last fall without any real hope that it would survive or grow, but here she is:

17861551_10209412536530736_5893396905493810057_n

I don’t usually make New Years resolutions aside from just to be happy, but this year I promised myself I was going to make more of an effort in the vegetable garden.  My husband helped me clear some of the building materials out from where they were being stored at each end of the garden thereby creating two new, but narrow, beds.  I plan on putting asparagus crowns in the north bed soon, but for now I am going to grow sunflowers and nasturtiums there.  The south bed is for potatoes this year.

17861892_10209412535450709_6521601123470077650_n 17798975_10209412538810793_352059655671522080_n

Basically what we did is till the ground to rid it of grass and weeds, then dumped some composted manure on the bed.  The bed itself is probably about eight feet long and three feet deep.  We purchased a variety of seed potatoes and I placed each on directly onto the prepared surface, then I dumped a forty pound bag of composted manure on each seed potato.  I hollowed out the tops so the plants wouldn’t have too far to go and also so water could collect in the top and sink down gently.  Once leaves and stems are poking up through the holes, I will mound the dirt back over them to protect the potatoes growing beneath.  Have you seen green potatoes in the grocery store, or maybe in your own stored spuds?  Do not eat them.  The green is chlorophyll, which isn’t dangerous, but when they start to produce that, they produce the poison solanine.  After I mound up the rest of the dirt, I will cover the whole bit with straw as mulch and additional anti-sun protection.  Between the potatoes and the other beds, I will plant zinnias to help attract pollinators to the garden.

This year we will try to grow strawberries again.  We attempted to do so when we first moved in, but a number of factors led to our failure, mostly lack of air circulation and planting them too closely together.  I took an idea I saw online and am growing them in my raised bed that I recently renovated.  It used to have a simple wooden frame, but that fell apart from years of freezing, heaving, being hit by the mower, etc.  The new bed is lined by cinder blocks and pavers.  I planted ten Ozark Beauty plants in the holes in the cinder blocks.  We’ll see how that works.

17800491_10209412536650739_2194986156168818647_n

17796855_10209412539450809_747714059631926599_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bed also contains some garlic that volunteered from last year, some peonies, some Coreopsis verticillata (aka threadleaf coreopsis), and Belladonna lilies.  I am also adding a rose.  Strawberries and roses can share diseases, so it’s best if they have separate soil.  The photo above shows the strawberries freshly planted.  As of “press time”, the leaves have opened and they are making themselves quite at home.

The garlic I planted last fall is looking good.  I usually plant my garlic just after the full moon in October or November.  This year I have to varieties in the ground: Inchelium Red and Siberian.  One is a soft neck variety (Inchelium) and the other is a hard neck.  Basically, the hard neck varieties will produce scapes in the spring, or flower stalks.  There has been much debate on whether removing the scapes helps produce larger heads of garlic or not, but if you do remove them, you can make many delicious things with them.  Grind them up to make pesto, chop them small and add them to stir fry or eggs, or just throw them in with your ingredients next time you make stock.  Hard neck varieties tend to grow better in colder climates, and soft necks in warmer.  I’m here in Kansas and so I just grow both.  Soft neck varieties tend to store longer, and Inchelium Red’s flavor becomes more intense with storage.

In order to save some money and use up any and all scraps that don’t go to the chickens, pieces of plants I prune, grass clippings, deadheads, etc, I have started a compost heap.  It started with all the weeds and marigolds from last year’s garden, which I let lay fallow, followed with lots of kitchen scraps (onions and things like that which the chickens can’t eat), and topped with the bedding from the coop.  I have named her Margery: The Almighty Trash Heap.  What?  I grew up on the Muppets.

17799382_10209412541090850_5148679326733503858_n.jpg

The last little bit of growing going on around here.  Last week I could hear a kitten crying.  It was coming from my neighbors house’s direction.  Not wanting to just go poking around their house, I knocked on the front door and asked if they had a cat.  They said yes, that it was safely enjoying the nice weather on their back porch.  I explained about the crying and was given permission to investigate.  In a hole in the retaining wall next to their house, a cat had had her kittens.  I heard a growl, looked down and saw her sea green eyes staring back at me.  I found the kitten that had fallen out of her little den and placed her back inside.  I told my neighbors what I’d found and went back home.  The other day, my husband noticed her walking by carrying a kitten.  She and her little family have taken up residence in my potting shed.  I make her scrambled eggs, because nursing kittens seems like hard work, especially for a homeless single mother.  I hope she stays around because we have pack rats that sometimes live in our garage.

17626483_10209332787297055_3391951066668686021_n.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

